Unshriven, the first full-length album of the Viennese post-metal band BOG, follows the two EPs Gustave (2014) and Auguste (2015) on 24th of June 2017. With Unshriven, songwriter Tim Primbs memorialises a young, seriously ill woman he met in the last weeks of her life. 

Unshriven is a concept album, or, more precisely, a station album: 11 tracks shape 11 stations. Two parallel levels (reality and metaphor) tell the stories of two travellers. The first level reveals the story of the 17-year-old, seriously ill girl. The second level is the accompanying metaphor: it tells of Sputnik’s journey through colours, emptiness and darkness, of its homesickness and its attempt to return home. 

An ambivalent construct of hopeful, melancholic melodies and raw, destructive energies creates the emotional sonic images that make the last journey of life comprehensible. Distinctive ambient sound layers, acoustic leitmotifs and dynamic sounds from time and space are accompanied by the voiceover of thanatologist Elisabeth Kuebler Ross. 

The album surprises with guest musicians from the Austrian and American post-rock scene and other related genres. For the album production, Tim Primbs brought Matthew Prokop on board, drummer of the Viennese post-rock band Lehnen. Josh Wing (Sól, USA), Joel Boyd (Lehnen) and Julia Schwarzer (CAYES, AT) contributed vocals, and Chris Pobaschnig (Mountain, AT) played keys on the song “Marrow”. Will Benoit, known for his work with post-rock bands like Caspian, Junius, City of Ships and Lehnen, did the mixing and mastering.


Follow us on:

  • White Facebook Icon
  • Weiß Bandcamp Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • Weiß Spotify Icon
  • Weiß Tumblr Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White SoundCloud Icon